Top 10 Albums of 2013 Revisited

Speedy Ortiz - Major Arcana
I enjoy end of the year albums lists, but they can seem outdated just 12 months later. There are two major reasons for this:

1. Over the course of more time, certain records grow on you. What’s the stuff you actually go back and listen to the most?

2. I’m a big dummy and I straight up miss listening to some stuff until the following year.

So I always post these revised rankings before launching into the current year’s edition. A lot of the albums I ranked in 2013 reshuffled for the reason outlined in #1 above. Also, I didn’t get into Speedy Ortiz until this year because I’m a fool whose opinions you clearly should never take seriously because I didn’t get into Speedy Ortiz until this year.

The Original Top 10 Albums of 2013

1. Pure Heroine – Lorde
2. Cerulean Salt – Waxahatchee
3. Sock It to Me – Colleen Green
4. Desperate Ground – The Thermals
5. Doom Loop – Mansions
6. Repeat – Wimps
7. S/T – Tancred
8. Surfing Strange – Swearin’
9. Hawaiii – Said the Whale
10. Matangi – M.I.A.

The Updated Top 10 Albums of 2013

1. Pure Heroine – Lorde
2. Major Arcana – Speedy Ortiz
3. Sock It to Me – Colleen Green
4. Desperate Ground – The Thermals
5. Cerulean Salt – Waxahatchee
6. Hawaiii – Said the Whale
7. S/T – Tancred
8. Doom Loop – Mansions
9. Repeat – Wimps
10. Matangi – M.I.A.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

